M Parent – American Dream


Artist: M Parent
Title: American Dream (2 x 12″ LP)
Label: Acid Camp Records
Format: 2LP with printed sleeve
Release Date: 10.04.2020

Hay existencias

SKU: ACR009 Categorías: , , Etiquetas: , ,


1. American Dream
2. Wide Awake
3. Fucked Acid
4. They Gave You What
5. Electric Snake
6. Lose Your Mind
7. Get In
8. Groovy

M Parent brings us a soundtrack of American dystopia, one that gives a pointed sonic voice to the bubbling frustrations and anxieties of our time. While American politics play out like a circus on the world stage, M Parent responds to the question of what it means to be American through dirty acid riffs and eerie electro synth stabs. The album opens with the title track where a deep voice bellows, “The American Dream was a lie,” setting the stage for what comes next. A warped sense of reality bubbles over in Lose Your Mind, as a wailing electric guitar plays a distorted rendition of the Star-Spangled Banner. On the track They Gave You What, a glitched out 808 breakbeat unwinds as psychedelic paranoia sets in over a stiff melodic hook.

But it’s not all doom and gloom, as it wouldn’t be a complete encapsulation of the American dream without a sense of hope. Balancing the LP out are playful tracks and aural details that keep the American tradition of funk alive. Fucked Acid offers a bright acid track with a funky falsetto synth line. At the album’s cheeky climax, Electric Snake, a reptilian beast is lured out with 808 toms and beat back by unrelenting snare rolls. Maniacal laughter and an acidic bubbly lead race towards the album’s conclusion in the track Get In. The LP finishes with Groovy, an uplifting track that adds a fragile sense of optimism.